Craft Burger, Headington

It’s always intriguing when a new eatery opens in Oxford and its surrounding suburbs. When I heard that Headington was welcoming a new burger joint to its offerings, I was pleased. Obviously I was pleased because I love burgers, but for me Headington is an area with so much potential for eating out and with Jacobs & Field and Jacobs Chop House providing great options it’s a welcome addition to the ranks.

So I ventured in for a mid-week lunch and was pleased to see that it’s a fresh, vibrant restaurant with a trendy, stripped back decor doing exactly what it says on the tin, Craft Burgers, not trying to be all things to all men. Check out the menu below for it’s simplicity and appeal:


I didn’t want to complicate things too much, so I went for the classic craft cheese and a pint of Meantime Pale Ale. The other great thing about Craft Burger is they also offer a range of craft beers on tap and by the bottle (and other drinks too…). The fact that my ale was served in a Tankard just served to reinforce my opinion that this place was doing the basics well and sprinkling a little bit of nostalgic quality on top like this:


So on to the main event, the burger. Well burgers needn’t be complicated and sometimes less is more and my choice served to strengthen this.


As you can see, I went for standard fries and enjoyed a couple of sides of onion rings and sweetcorn on the cob, also tasty. All in all this was a great feed; solid, well presented and tasty – what more do you need?

For me, this is the type of burger to rival the brilliant Atomic Burger which hasn’t enjoyed a real independent competitor in Oxford until now. Putting this place in Headington is a masterstroke, and I hope to see it doing well over the course of 2017.

Food Of The Ox Rating: 9/10

http://www.craft-burger.co.uk/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

